I’d rather be lucky…

Myhusband always says  …”I’d rather be lucky than good any day!” At first I chuckled, but I am slowly realizing how true that statement really is.

If it weren’t for luck I would not have met my husband. and if it weren’t for luck {and a little bit of timing}, Unique Pl8z would never have been born!

Unique Pl8z was honestly sort of an accident.

While owning a very successful consignment store in Virginia; my husband came home from work with news that would change our lives forever. As a military family we are accustomed to change, however, I never expected a move to Kadena Air Base, in Okinawa Japan. I quickly had to sell my store, and frantically pack up our house so that the moving company could ship our belongings to the other side of the world….It was exhausting!

My husband’s job with the Air Force was going to have him traveling for the first 6 months we would be in Okinawa, so we decided that the kids and I would stay with family in Rhode Island until Christmas.   It was so wonderful to spend quality time with the people who meant the most to me, and I was finally able to enjoy my hobby of consignment and estate sale shopping.  I’ve always had a passion for creating something new from the old.

While cleaning up around the garage; my dad was getting rid of some old license plates that my grandfather had collected.  I quickly stopped him.  I immediately had the idea that I could do something with them.  So I cleaned them, cut them up, and turned them into one of a kind signs and gave them to family and friends as Christmas presents.

One of my very first signs!

I haven’t looked back since.

I am so thankful that luck is on my side!

my newest sign

Leave a Reply

